Books On Our Site May Not Be Available In-Store
Is This Book In Stock?  Be Savvy!  Check availability details beneath the blue "Add to Cart" button.

Between Wrecks (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Between Wrecks Cover Image
$15.95
Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 2-5 Days

Staff Reviews


“I laughed so hard reading this book it doubled as a work out. Singleton imagines absurd situations played out by characters who tie their luck in knots: a student in an online southern culture course looks for truth in a scrapbooking club; an uncle makes a killing selling parachutes on the off chance of sinkholes; a woman funnels her husband’s scratch ticket winnings into never-ending home remodeling. These characters manage their fates with peculiar, hilarious, sometimes heart-wringing methods. Fans of George Saunders and Kurt Vonnegut will find a lot to love here. This is the most fun I’ve had reading a collection of stories in a long time.”

— Julie W.

“I laughed so hard reading this book it doubled as a work out. Singleton imagines absurd situations played out by characters who tie their luck in knots: a student in an online southern culture course looks for truth in a scrapbooking club; an uncle makes a killing selling parachutes on the off chance of sinkholes; a woman funnels her husband’s scratch ticket winnings into never-ending home remodeling. These characters manage their fates with peculiar, hilarious, sometimes heart-wringing methods. Fans of George Saunders and Kurt Vonnegut will find a lot to love here. This is the most fun I’ve had reading a collection of stories in a long time.”

— From Julie's Picks

May 2014 Indie Next List


“I laughed so hard reading this book that it doubled as a workout. Singleton imagines absurd situations played out by characters who tie their luck in knots: a student in an online Southern culture course looks for truth in a scrapbooking club; an uncle makes a killing selling parachutes on the off-chance of sinkholes; a woman funnels her husband's scratch-ticket winnings into never-ending home remodels. These characters manage their fates with peculiar, hilarious, sometimes heart-wringing methods. Fans of George Saunders and Kurt Vonnegut will find a lot to love here.”
— Julie Wernersbach, Book People, Austin, TX

Description


" The] unchallenged king of the comic Southern short story." --The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

"George Singleton writes about the rural South without sentimentality or stereotype but with plenty of sharp-witted humor. . . . A raconteur of trends, counter-trends, obsessions and odd characters."--NPR Morning Edition

"Thank God for George Singleton, who makes us laugh and makes us think."--The Times-Picayune

There's a place just down the way where a trip to the salvage yard reveals infidelity and theft. There's another where an unlicensed entomologist celebrates his freedom with a compulsive liar while a manhunt ensues on the streets outside. Places where a con man and his nephew sell stolen parachutes to veterans in case the ground beneath them should suddenly give way and where Chuck Norris's face graces only the walls of the finest trailers. A place where tongues get left in rental cars and a place where everyone insists an absolute stranger is your boyhood friend.

Between Wrecks takes readers on a raucous bar crawl through an America both startlingly familiar and hilariously absurd, examining paranoia, fear, relentless "truths," longstanding personal habits gone awry, and what it means to look toward a horizon that may or may not be a mirage.

George Singleton is the author of two novels and five short story collections, including Stray Decorum. A 2013 SIBA Book Award finalist, his work has appeared in Atlantic Monthly, Harper's Magazine, and Playboy. A former Guggenheim Fellow, he was awarded the Hillsdale Award for Fiction by the Fellowship of Southern Writers in 2011. He holds an MFA degree from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and currently teaches writing at South Carolina Governor's School for the Arts and Humanities. He lives in Spartanburg, South Carolina.


About the Author


George Singleton is the author of two novels and five short story collections, including Stray Decorum. A 2013 SIBA Book Award Finalist, his work has appeared in The Atlantic Monthly, Harper's, and Playboy. A former Guggenheim Fellow, he was awarded the Hillsdale Award for Fiction by The Fellowship of Southern Writers in 2011. He holds an MFA degree from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and currently teaches writing at South Carolina Governor's School for the Arts & Humanities. He currently lives in Spartanburg, South Carolina.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781938103797
ISBN-10: 1938103793
Publisher: Dzanc Books
Publication Date: May 6th, 2014
Pages: 271
Language: English